David Harrington (San Francisco)

                                  Photo by Anya Roz

“…one of the most astonishing works ever written for string quartet.

Violinist David Harrington founded Kronos Quartet in 1973 with a view to innovate string quartet practice by incorporating everything from jazz, rock, pop, and beat poetry to the use of non-Western instruments and world music languages.

In the process, Kronos has become one of the most celebrated and influential groups of our time, performing thousands of concerts worldwide, releasing more than 45 recordings of extraordinary breadth and creativity, collaborating with many of the world’s most eclectic composers and performers, and commissioning more than 750 works and arrangements for string quartet. In 2011, Kronos became the only recipients of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize, two of the most prestigious awards given to musicians. The group’s numerous awards also include a Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance (2004) and “Musicians of the Year” (2003) from Musical America.


“I am a collector of musical moments”

Purple Haze – Kronos Quartet

“I feel that humanity would be so much less [without this Quintet]”

Have your say

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Safari hates me



  • No categories